

News Release

2017 IOWA FFA AG SALES CAREER DEVELOPMENT EVENT

89th Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference

AMES, IA - The Iowa FFA Ag Sales Leadership Event was held at Iowa State University, Ames, on Monday, April 10, 2017. Twelve individuals participated in this year's Career Development Event (CDE). The first place individual for the event was Emmi Taets from the Osage FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mrs. Melissa Moretz. The second place individual for the event was Austin Brown from the West Dubuque FFA Chapter at Epworth. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Luke Rauen.

Participants in the Ag Sales Leadership Event were required to sell an agricultural product to one of the event judges. The purpose of this event is to prepare FFA members in developing skills and techniques important toward becoming successful salespersons of agricultural products. The Iowa FFA Ag Sales (Individual) CDE was made possible with support from Energy Panel Structures through the Iowa FFA Foundation.

The results from the Ag Sales (Individual) CDE are listed below.

###

About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of over 14,800 student members as part of 232 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.

Place FFA Member Name(s)		Chapter P. O.	Rating
1	Emmi Taets	Osage	Gold
2	Austin Brown	Epworth	Gold
3	Chandler Strough	Clarinda	Gold
	Mara Weis	Afton	Silver
	Erica Mehlhaus	Boone	Silver
	Dayton Brugman	Everly	Silver

Iowa FFA Association -- 2

Caleb Finnegan	Guthrie Center	Silver
Justin Shields	Leon	Silver
Kabe Boysen	Wapello	Silver
Carson Woods	Fairbank	Bronze
Kevin Steinkamp	Lake View	Bronze
Dylan Lippens	Preston	Bronze